Uber Tracks Your Location For Five Minutes After Drop Off, Which Isn't Creepy At All

*Cancels trip*

Most Popular
Taxi driver
GIF

We need to have a chat about Uber, because despite their slick user interface and cool cashless payment system, their latest development is a little off.

Uber have just introduced passenger tracking, which holds onto your GPS location for up to five minutes after you end a ride with the taxi app. According to The Telegraph, "The additional tracking is meant to help prevent fraud, such as when a driver charges passengers extra by marking a journey as finished several minutes after it has actually ended. However, many users voiced their disappointment at what they saw as an intrusion into their privacy."

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The app gives you an onscreen notification asking you to turn on tracking which you can dismiss, but this then means you're unable to use GPS to set your pick up location you have to instead manually input the address.

With this and Uber's head of economic research admitting they surge prices when your battery is low, we're feeling a little used tbh.